Local Public Television Stations Elect New Members to the Board of Trustees of the Association of Public Television Stations

WASHINGTON — February 26, 2012 — The Association of Public Television Stations (APTS) announced the recent election of three new members of its Board of Trustees. APTS also announced that four current board members were re-elected to the Board.

The newly-elected trustees are Roger Gose, M.D., Board Chair, Central Wyoming Community College in Riverton, Wyoming (Licensor for Wyoming PBS); Allan Pizzato, Executive Director, Alabama Public Television (APT), in Birmingham, AL; and Landri Taylor, Lay Trustee, Rocky Mountain PBS–KRMA in Denver, CO.

Roger Gose, M.D. is a practicing Board Certified specialist in Internal Medicine. He is a graduate of the University of Texas (Austin), Plan II Honors Program, and the University of Texas Medical Branch, Galveston. Gose serves as the current chairman of the Riverton Memorial Hospital Board of Trustees, and has practiced medicine in Riverton for the past 34 years. Gose has participated as ‘local talent’ in many pledge drives at Wyoming Public Television. In addition, he has moderated several health related programs at Wyoming PBS.  

Allan Pizzato joined APT in August 2000. APT is a public educational television facility headquartered in Birmingham, AL with nine television stations across the state as well as a public FM radio facility in Huntsville, AL. Pizzato serves as liaison to the Alabama Legislature and Executive Branch of state government for the Alabama Educational Television Commission. Prior to APTS, Pizzato served in general manager roles at WSRE-TV in Florida and WSIU-TV in Illinois.

Landri Taylor is the president and CEO of the Urban League of Metropolitan Denver, Inc. Prior to taking the helm of the Urban League, Taylor was the vice president of community affairs for Forest City Stapleton, Inc., a development company. Taylor also owned Alpha Associates, a community consultant business. He served on the board of Rocky Mountain PBS from 2003–2009 and as its board chair from 2007–2009. Taylor’s community service also includes service on Denver’s Library Commission, Mayor’s Commission on Workforce Development and the Community College of Denver Foundation.

The APTS membership also re-elected the following current board members: Rod Bates, General Manager , Nebraska Educational Telecommunications (NET) in Lincoln, NE; Ellis Bromberg, General Manager, Milwaukee Public Television WMVS/WMVT, in Milwaukee, WI; Hilma Prather, Lay Trustee, Kentucky Educational Television (KET) in Lexington, KY; and Jeffrey Stone, Lay Trustee, HoustonPBS in Houston, TX.

About APTS
The Association of Public Television Stations (APTS) is a nonprofit membership organization established in 1979. The mission of APTS is to conduct – in concert with member stations – advocacy, planning, research and communications activities in order to achieve strong and financially sound noncommercial television and advanced digital services for the American people. APTS provides consistent leadership and information that helps our members better accomplish their own missions and goals. Through its affiliate APTS Action, APTS promotes the legislative and regulatory interests of noncommercial television stations at the national level through direct advocacy, and grasstops and grassroots campaigns designed to garner congressional support. For more information, visit www.apts.org.