APTS Commends the House for Passing the Satellite Television Extension and Localism Act

WASHINGTON – July 22, 2014 – The Association of Public Television Stations (APTS) today commended the U.S. House of Representatives for passing H.R. 4572, the Satellite Television Extension and Localism Reauthorization Act (STELA).

“The Association of Public Television Stations is grateful for the bipartisan leadership of Communications and Technology Subcommittee Chairman Greg Walden (R-OR) and Ranking Member Anna Eshoo (D-CA), and Energy and Commerce Committee Chairman Fred Upton (R-MI) and Ranking Member Henry Waxman (D-CA) in passing the reauthorization of STELA, governing the satellite carriage of local television stations,” said APTS president and CEO Patrick Butler.

“The House reauthorization of STELA is an important step toward assuring that millions of public television viewers will continue to receive their local public television stations’ programming and education, public safety and citizenship services via satellite, and we look forward to future action on the Senate version of this legislation and final congressional approval of this essential measure before year’s end,” said Butler.

About APTS
The Association of Public Television Stations (APTS) is a nonprofit membership organization established in 1979. The mission of APTS is to conduct – in concert with member stations – advocacy, planning, research, communications and other activities that foster a strong and financially sound public television system providing essential public services to all Americans. Its affiliate APTS Action, Inc. promotes the legislative and regulatory interests of noncommercial television stations at the national level through direct advocacy and through grasstops and grassroots campaigns designed to garner bipartisan congressional support. For more information, visit www.apts.org.