The 2019 Public Media Summit Schedule

All sessions to be held at the Fairmont Washington D.C. Georgetown Hotel,
2401 M Street NW, Washington, D.C. 20037
(unless otherwise noted)

The Summit is open to APTS members and press with valid credentials.




10:00 a.m. – 11:30 a.m.
APTS/APTS Action, Inc. Annual Board Meetings
- Kennedy Ballroom



8:00 a.m. – 10:00 a.m.
University Licensee AssociationRoosevelt Room
Contact: Franz Joachim,



8:30 a.m. – 7:00 p.m.
Registration for the 2019 Public Media Summit
Ballroom Foyer

11:30 a.m. – 6:30 p.m.
Exhibition Hall Open
Ballroom Foyer

11:45 a.m. – 1:15 p.m.
Lunch Session
Sponsored by Sesame Workshop

Welcome to the 2019 Public Media Summit
Ronnie Agnew, Board Chair, APTS and APTS Action, Inc., and Executive Director, Mississippi Public Broadcasting.

Recognition of Summit Sponsors and Exhibitors
Tela Hansom-Pitt, Manager, Member Services, and Executive Assistant to the President, APTS.

Sesame Street Celebration
Jeffrey Dunn, President and CEO of Sesame Workshop, celebrates the 50th anniversary of Sesame Street.

President's Annual Address
Patrick Butler, President and CEO, America's Public Television Stations (APTS).

1:30 p.m. – 3:00 p.m.
General Session

A Strategy of Localism

Jeffrey Cole, Director, Center for the Digital Future USC Annenberg School of Communication and Journalism, on localism as a business strategy in the age of Netflix.

David Brooks, PBS NewsHour commentator, The New York Times columnist, on localism as a political movement.

Discussion of Localism and Public Television
Professor Cole, Mr. Brooks, Molly Phillips, Executive Director & General Manager of Iowa Public Television, and Kevin Martin, President and CEO of ideastream, Cleveland, Ohio. Moderated by Patrick Butler.

3:00 p.m. – 3:25 p.m.
Meet and Greet Exhibitors & BreakExhibition Hall
Sponsored by T-Mobile

3:30 p.m. – 5:00 p.m.
Legislative Session

APTS Legislative Staff - Preparation for Hill Visits (Closed to Press)

The APTS legislative staff and station leaders will provide a dynamic presentation and discussion on how to highlight your local initiatives and their community impact as you make the case for increased public media funding during your congressional meetings.

The session will also cover the importance of our grassroots and grasstops advocacy tools in our legislative success.

  • Kate Riley, Vice President, Government and Public Affairs, APTS
  • Cait Beroza, Advocacy & Social Media Manager, APTS
  • Jennifer Kieley, Director, Government Relations, APTS
  • Will Glasscock, Legislative and Policy Consultant, APTS Action, Inc.
  • Deborah Acklin, President and CEO, WQED Multimedia, Pittsburgh, PA
  • Roy Clem, Executive Director, Alabama Public Television
  • Jeffrey Gilbert, Board Chairman, New Hampshire Public Television

5:30 p.m. – 6:30 p.m.
Welcome Celebration
Exhibition Hall
Sponsored by Sesame Workshop

6:30 p.m. – 8:30 p.m.
Dinner Session - Ballroom
Sponsored by NHK WORLD-JAPAN

Celebrating the 10th anniversary of NHK WORLD-JAPAN
Mr. Takaaki Takai, Deputy Managing Director of NHK WORLD-JAPAN, and Ms. Kaori Kaiho, Executive Producer will introduce a fascinating documentary series on the Emperor of Japan.


7:15 a.m. – 7:00 p.m.
Ballroom Foyer

7:15 a.m. – 5:00 p.m.
Exhibition Hall Open
Ballroom Foyer

7:15 a.m. – 9:00 a.m.
Breakfast Session - Ballroom
Sponsored by LG Electronics USA

Remarks by House Majority Leader Steny Hoyer (D-MD). 

Remarks by John Taylor, Senior Vice President of Public Affairs and Communications, LG Electronics USA.

9:00 a.m. – 10:30 a.m.
General Session

Exploration of Next Gen Transition and Business Opportunities

Susi Elkins, Director of Broadcasting and General Manager, WKAR Public Media, East Lansing, MI.

Fred Engel, Chief Technology Officer, Public Media North Carolina/UNC-TV, Raleigh-Durham, NC.

John Hane, President of Spectrum Co, LLC.

Skip Pizzi, Vice President, Technology Education and Outreach, National Association of Broadcasters (NAB).

Mary Mazur, General Manager, Arizona PBS, Phoenix, AZ.

10:30 a.m. – 10:55 a.m.
- Exhibition Hall
Sponsored by NAB

11:00 a.m. – 12:30 p.m.
General Session

APTS/APTS Action, Inc. Annual Membership Meetings

Ronnie Agnew, Board Chair, APTS and APTS Action, Inc., and Executive Director, Mississippi Public Broadcasting.

Acknowledgement of retiring Board members, welcome to newly elected Board members, recognition of new Board officers.

Celebration of retiring General Managers.

Welcome of new General Managers.

Presentation of the 2019 David J. Brugger Lay Leadership Award.

Presentation of the 2019 Pillar of Public Service Award.

A Celebration of Localism

Great examples of local service in education, public safety and civic leadership.

  • Ed Ulman, CEO & General Manager, Alaska Public Media, Anchorage, AK.
  • Bruce Haines, President & General Manager, WFWA, Ft. Wayne, IN.
  • Dolores Sukhdeo, President & CEO, South Florida PBS, Miami, FL.

12:30 p.m. – 12:55 p.m.
Exhibition Hall
Sponsored by Dom Ruscio and CRD Associates

1:00 p.m. – 2:30 p.m.
Lunch Session
Sponsored by CPB

Public Media: Local Strong, Local Matters
Before opioid addiction became a national epidemic, local stations, deeply connected to their communities, were reporting on the issue and identifying solutions. Local content matters which is why strong local stations are important. Join Pat Harrison, CPB President and CEO for lunch with Admiral James Alexander and Mary Winnefeld who lost their son to an opioid overdose and have shared their compelling story through public media. We are also honored to have with us a strong supporter of public media and a legislative leader on policies to combat opioid addiction and substance abuse, Congressman and Assistant House Speaker Ben Ray Lujan of New Mexico.

2:45 p.m. – 4:30 p.m.
Concurrent Sessions 

General Managers SessionMission-Driven Revenue OpportunitiesBallroom  (Closed to Press)

Stacey Karp, Director of Communications, APTS, directs General Managers to three station entrepreneurship “revenue centers.” 
Revenue Opportunities in Education  

  • Bert Schmidt, President & CEO, WHRO in Norfolk, VA.

Revenue Opportunities Through The Grant Center for Public Media

  • Meegan White, Project Director, Grant Center for Public Media, APTS, and Anthony Collebrusco, Research Associate, Grant Center for Public Media, APTS.

Revenue Opportunities Through The Contributor Development Partnership 

  • Ben Godley, CEO, CDP.

Lay Leaders Session: How To Be An Effective Ambassador – Kennedy Ballroom  (Closed to Press)

Former Congressman Charlie Dent (R-PA), a veteran of the House Appropriations Committee, will lead discussion with APTS staff and lay leaders on how "civilian" ambassadors for public television can have the greatest impact on Capitol Hill.

4:30 p.m. – 5:00 p.m.
Refreshments and Prize Drawing
Exhibition Hall
Sponsored by Garvey Schubert Barer, Gray Miller Persh and Wilkinson Barker Knauer

6:30 p.m. – 8:30 p.m.
Dinner Session
Sponsored by PBS

Robert Costa, Moderator, Washington Week and National Political Reporter, The Washington Post, moderates a discussion of 2019 politics and policy-making with:

  • Yamiche Alcindor, PBS NEWSHOUR 
  • Susan Davis, NPR
  • Lisa Lerer, New York Times


7:30 a.m.
Bus Loading/Transportation to Capitol Hill BreakfastFairmont Side Lobby Entrance (M Street)
Sponsored by Penn Hill Group

8:00 a.m. - 10:00 a.m.
Breakfast Program
Members Room, Library of Congress
Sponsored by WETA

Welcome by Patrick Butler, President and CEO, APTS.

Remarks by Representative Earl Blumenauer (D-OR), Chair, Congressional Public Broadcasting Caucus.

Remarks by Sharon Percy Rockefeller, President and CEO, WETA.

Presentation of the 2019 National Advocacy Award.

Presentation of the 2019 Champion of Public Broadcasting Award and remarks by Senator Susan Collins (R-ME).

All Day
Capitol Hill Day